Today, I am studying Joe Bunting’s excellent e-book  “Lets write a short story'”. So far I have only read the introduction, but at the end of it, Bunting asks us to ‘promise’ to use the knowledge we gain from the book to write a short story and submit it for publishing BY THE END OF THE MONTH….

I’m excited.

I’m scared.

I’m expecting to be rejected by EVERY literary magazine I submit it to, because, Bunting tells us, it is statistically easier to get accepted at Harvard than it is to get a short story accepted for publication. But rejection will be a ‘badge of honour’ and failing is the fastest way to learn.

It almost feels like it would be easier to just chuck my manuscript in the bin when I have finished, and have done with it.  Or press delete on the only saved copy on my laptop. But where would the fun be in that?

And what if…what IF I get lucky?

I might buy a few lottery tickets while I’m at it.

