Writer's block

Writer’s block (Photo credit: Incessant Flux)

 

It hasn’t always been my dream to be a writer.

 

I can’t remember really what I wanted to be when I was little. I remember my grandmother telling me I should be a teacher because I loved to pretend I was one, with my grandparents and toys as pupils. And I can remember once having a conversation with my mum where I asked her if you had to take exams to become a toilet cleaner. Not that I WANTED to be a toilet cleaner, you understand, I just didn’t think exams sounded like much fun. And lets face it, they are not.

 

I went through school and 6th form college, and then went to university in London to study English and Drama. I loved drama. I would like to have become an actress or work in tv or film somewhere, but I was REALLY unhappy living in London, and my English class was…well, confusing would be the best way to describe it. I had no idea how the lectures related to the books we were supposed to be studying, or what was required of me. Plus I got a part time job in a burger bar and got FIRED…mostly because they wanted me to work more hours and I declined. How can you go from asking someone to work more hours to telling them their work sucks and firing them???

 

I digress.

 

So i went back home, tail between my legs and floundered about for a bit, wondering what to do next. I worked in a couple of shops for a while, but then I sort of fell into nursing, discovered I was good at it, and the rest is history.

 

I’ve always loved  a good story though. Reading them and writing them.This is the year I decided I was going to take the bull by the horns and REALLY write my book. I planned to write a chapter a month and have it all done by the end of the year.

 

I think I was being a bit ambitious. And I will be honest and say that, looking into it and reading other peoples accounts of life in the writing world, getting your work published is an awful lot harder than I had even imagined.

 

For now though, I am REALLY enjoying the process. I’m enjoying improving my writing, learning better grammar and sharing ideas. However hard it is, I am going to give it a go. If I don’t get published, at least i will have tried. So long as I enjoy it, it won’t be time wasted, will it?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

